MTCC recently announced the 2019 winners for the of the George M. Dennison Civic Engagement Scholarship. The award recognizes students at MTCC affiliate campuses who have volunteered significant time, energy and resources – while pursuing a degree or certificate – to projects that make a meaningful difference in the lives of others. Half of the funds for each scholarship have been donated in memory of George M. Dennison by Jane Dennison and sons, Rick and Robert Dennison, and their families. George Dennison was a tireless champion of service and was the co-founder of Montana Campus Compact. The other half of each scholarship is matched by the winners’ institutions.

This fall we had a highly competitive group of 36 students apply for the scholarship, each accomplishing exemplary service and making significant positive change in their institutions, communities and the world.

Click here to learn more about the winners.

For more information about George M. Dennison and the Scholarship, read below.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

MTCC's George Dennison Civic Engagement Scholarship honors the contributions college students make to community life in Montana and beyond. The $1000 scholarships recognize undergraduate students who have made a significant community-based service effort while pursuing a degree or certificate.

MTCC selects six current undergraduate students who are attending an MTCC affiliate campus. The $1000 scholarships are awarded in these categories (two scholarships per category): tribal and community colleges; 4-year colleges; flagship universities (UM and MSU). The scholarships are a combination of a $500 waiver from the scholarship recipient's college/university, matched by a $500 MTCC check sent to the scholarship recipient's financial aid office.

All applications meeting the required criteria (below) will be considered. Winners will be notified on December 17, 2018. More information about past scholarship winners can be found below.



- Must have completed a FAFSA application
- Must be an undergraduate student attending a MTCC affiliate institution in Fall 2018
- Must be an undergraduate student attending a MTCC affiliate institution in Spring 2019
- Must submit your application on or before December 2, 2018


Each year since 2015 the Montana Campus Compact network has awarded at least six scholarships to civically engaged college students from across Montana. The Civic Engagement Scholarship honors students who have invested significant amounts of time, energy and resources to service efforts that have positively changed their institutions, communities and the world - all while actively pursuing a degree or certificate. Today we announce a new name for this prestigious scholarship: the George M. Dennison Civic Engagement Scholarship!

George M. Dennison (1935-2017) was the longest serving president of the University of Montana. Among his accomplishments was his tireless record of service. In 1993 he co-founded the Montana Campus Compact, a network of colleges and universities committed to community engagement. George worked closely with CEO colleagues from state, private and tribal institutions to create a network of presidents who shared the values of community engagement and the public purposes of higher education. He co-chaired the MTCC board with the University of Great Falls' Frederick Gilliard for many years.

George also chaired the Governor's Commission on Community Service, helping support national service, service learning and volunteerism in Montana. During his time on the Commission, he worked with Reach Higher Montana to create the Youth Serve Montana Scholarship, which still is awarded annually to 100 incoming college freshmen attending Montana Campus Compact affiliate institutions.

Dennison's legacy can still be very much felt to this day. When the board of the Montana Campus Compact created the George M. Dennison Civic Engagement Scholarship it was done to honor the vision that reminds us that we are better together, that we should strive to find common ground across political divides, and that the core purpose of an education is to serve the public good. The George M. Dennison Civic Engagement Scholarship honors exemplary Montana college students who, like George, have made noticeable positive differences in the communities where they live.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Six students from MTCC affiliated campuses around the state of Montana were awarded MTCC's Spring 2018 Civic Engagement Scholarship. An additional six received the scholarship in the fall of 2018, with the support of Reach Higher Montana and the Governor's Office of Community Service. To learn more about the spring recipients click here and to read about the fall 2018 recipients, click here.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

2015 Winners:

Top row (left to right):Taylor Warren, Carroll College; Holly Johnson, University of Great Falls;Annalese Warner, University of Montana.
Bottom row: Nicholas Bragg, Montana State University; Alicia Morley, Montana Tech; Katy Warner, University of Montana.

Nicholas Bragg, Montana State University.
Volunteer service: Park County Relay for Life, Elementary and middle school basketball coaching.

Holly Johnson, University of Great Falls.
Volunteer service: Disability Awareness Week at the University of Great Falls.

Alicia Morley, Montana Tech.
Volunteer service: Anaconda Women's Club, Anaconda Relay for Life, Head Start Policy Council.

Annalese Warner, University of Montana.
Volunteer service: Special Olympics, Big Brothers Big Sisters

Katy Warner, University of Montana.
Volunteer service: Flagship Program, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Special Olympics, Global Partner, and Study Abroad Ambassador.

Taylor Warren, Carroll College.
Volunteer service: Carroll College Headlights, Big Brothers Big Sisters